New Gear

The time has finally come when I take my existing tripod behind the wood shed and put it down. I’ve been battling, cursing, losing patience, and plain not happy over the supporting unit for my favorite spotting scope. Now I realize that I received this tripod for free, and it was a marginal improvement from the previous tripod, however when you’re standing over your scope attempting to focus on a distance bird and the lock on one of the legs doesn’t hold time and time again, that means to me it’s time for a BRAND NEW tripod.

I’ve known that this day would come eventually so I’ve been doing my homework and looking into the budgetary aspect of purchasing a new tripod and I think I came up with a very nice choice. The Manfrotto 128RC Micro-fluid head, paired with the Manfrotto 190XB tripod legs, which will marry up with my spotting scope quite nicely. The tripod legs aren’t made of carbon fiber, which would have added up to $150.00 more for less weight, however this is a trade off that I can live with.

Don’t they look beautiful together. They’re even the same color. I’ve been waiting for this day for a long time, and it’s been a long 48 hours. Once again I made my purchase through Eagle Optics and I couldn’t be happier with the service and the quickness that my tripod made it to my house.

After setting it up I put it through it’s paces and found out how smooth and solid this tripod was. With the legs fully extended and the center post all the way down, the scope is at the perfect height. However when I digiscope any picture I’m going to have to lower it some so I can see the screen on the camera. That is something that I’ll just have to get used to.

And one of the simpler features that I love is the quick release plate that almost all good quality tripods have, except for me and the old fashioned tripod that I was using.

That gray plate screws right into the bottom of your spotting scope and then all you have to do is slide it into the head where it locks it into place. Now I can store my scope in a more dust proof and padded environment.

As you can probably tell by now I’m pretty excited to take my new rig out into the field, and this Saturday will be that day. Phil and myself are off to Caesar Creek S.P. to check out the mudflats and do some adjusting to his gi-noculars. So stay tuned.

And as for my old tripod, well………..it was quick and painless.

2 responses to “New Gear

  1. Nice. Manfrotto is a very reliable brand.

  2. It’s always a blast getting new gear- congrats and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

