Outings & Sightings 9/5/2010

With the forecast of cooler weather, and a 100% prediction of migrant warblers, I pulled on my jeans,( My lucky birding pants were in the wash. I hope it doesn’t throw my mojo off.) and knit long sleeve Henley, and washed down my cereal with 2 cups of Joe, and made my out in the cool of the morning with high hopes. With it being 7am on a Sunday morning the traffic was almost a non-issue. Made it down to Magrish Riverlands Preserve at about 7:40am.

With the recent postings from Shawnee Lookout of warblers on the move, I wanted to see if they would backup here at Magrish Preserve before heading off across the river. I didn’t do too terribly bad, with 35 different species with 4 warblers. Meet Kurt W. who had spotted a Northern Parula and a American Redstart earlier. He seemed rather content to bird by himself, so I left him. Myself personally, I’d rather bird with someone. More eyes, you know.

Walked down to the river and took the trail that ran parallel to it, with not too much luck. Except a beautiful pair of Pileated Woodpeckers.

Just about the time I was about to head on out, I heard a deep, booming bark. Turning, I noticed this rather large Black Labrador heading my way with his master calling, “Edgar”, a short distance behind. Lo and behold it turns out to be my e-mail friend Jonathan F. So I went birding with him around Magrish one more time, while we  shot the breeze. I finally left at 11:00am.

To finish off my day I went over to Bill and Kathy’s house to put the newspaper on their porch, since they were out of town. I decided to drive back to their fields to see if any butterflies were puttin’ on a show. Much to my surprise I got more than I bargained for.

God, how much do I love birds!

Here is the list of today’s sightings:

  1. American Crow
  2. Starling
  3. Mourning Dove
  4. Northern Cardinal
  5. Rock Dove
  6. Canada Geese
  7. Carolina Wren
  8. Downy Woodpecker
  9. Carolina Chickadee
  10. Common Grackle
  11. Ruby-throated Hummingbird
  12. Grey Cat Bird
  13. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  14. Blue Jay
  15. Tennessee Warbler
  16. American Robin
  17. Tufted Titmouse
  18. Eastern Wood Pewee
  19. Black and White Warbler
  20. Northern Flicker
  21. Magnolia Warbler
  22. Pileated Woodpecker
  23. Cedar Waxwing
  24. Eastern Phoebe
  25. Great Blue Heron
  26. White-breasted Nuthatch
  27. Banks Swallow
  28. Wood Duck
  29. Eastern Gold Finch
  30. Belted King Fisher
  31. Yellow Warbler
  32. Warbling Vireo
  33. Blue-grey Gnatcatcher
  34. Chimney Swift
  35. Cooper’s Hawk
Leave a Reply

