Shawnee Lookout 9/10/2010

I just love spontaneous birding adventures, don’t you? Today was a light day at work, so I left at 1:00 and headed over to Shawnee Lookout Park. It’s such a beautiful day, and with Kathy and myself traveling to Bowling Green tomorrow for the big art show, I thought why not. With every passing day, the chances of catching fall migrants decreases, and since I’m not going with the group tomorrow to visit Shawnee Lookout, I did a solo trip. What I really wanted was just one more new bird. I had been in contact with Jay S. and we were discussing my adversary. The elusive White-eyed Vireo. Well, lets just say I left a happy boy.

Besides checking out Shawnee Lookout, I ran over to the boat ramp and surrounding areas and had some  pretty good luck. What was cool was that I had the whole place to myself. And it was very quiet, except for the birds. Being in the late afternoon it wasn’t the best time to go birding. But ya gotta’ do, what ya gotta’ do to get the birding in. The trail from the boat ramp parking lot that runs parallel to the water held the best birding, especially when you got back to the river. If you know the area at all, your walking along the trail with a history of flooding. There’s not a lot of under brush till you get closer to the river. Then it turned into a little Magee Marsh Warbler hangout. Needless to say there were probably more warblers than I saw because of the thick brush, but it was a lot of fun.

  1. American Crow
  2. Great Blue Heron
  3. Least Flycatcher
  4. Blue Jay
  5. Turkey Vulture
  6. Black Vulture
  7. Grey Catbird
  8. Northern Cardinal
  9. Indigo Bunting
  10. Downy Woodpecker
  11. Robin
  12. White-eyed Vireo (New)
  13. Mourning dove
  14. Green heron
  15. Red Wing Black Bird
  16. Kill Deer
  17. White-breasted Nuthatch
  18. Carolina Chickadee
  19. Yellow-rumped (Myrtle) Warbler
  20. Tufted Titmouse
  21. American Redstart
  22. Hairy Woodpecker
  23. Black-throated Green Warbler
  24. Eastern Goldfinch
  25. Bald Eagle
  26. Osprey
  27. Belted Kingfisher
  28. Song Sparrow
  29. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  30. Solitary Sandpiper
Leave a Reply

