Outings and Sightings 10/2/2010

Recently the owner of a rather large piece of farmland, donated said property to our township for use as a public park. Now, this soon to be park is no more that 1/4 mile from my house, and I’ve been wanting to check out the wooded section of it. I know, I know, I said no posts till I got back from vacation. My curiosity got the best of me, and it sure was a fine sunny morning.

The entrance off the road looks more like a construction entrance than a people entrance.

As you can see in the above picture that the sun wasn’t completely up. So with this section still in shadow there wasn’t too much bird activity till I got back to that sunny corner you see in the distance. The deer were up, and rather curious as to what I’m doing. You would hear them snorting at me before  they ran off.

The rather wide path makes a right angle turn to the right where there is this small pond. Because of the recent drought you could see the water line and could tell that it’s level was down a few feet. With the water and the sun starting to hit the tops of the trees, this was one of several hot spots during the morning.

This is the view as the path leads on.

This next picture shows a pile of cut trees, which turn out to be a rather busy birding spot. Within a 100 feet of this area was hopping with birds.

I really didn’t spend a lot of time there, (which I’m sure will change) but I was impressed. As long as the powers that be leave it as it is, and don’t cut down the trees, I will be making repeated trips here. Here is my list for the morning.

  1. Northern Cardinal
  2. Starling
  3. White-breasted Nuthatch
  4. American Robin
  5. Carolina Chickadee
  6. Blue Jay
  7. Eastern Goldfinch
  8. Black-throated Green Warbler
  9. Downy Woodpecker
  10. Northern Flicker
  11. Red-tail Hawk
  12. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  13. Tufted Titmouse
  14. Magnolia Warbler-1st fall
  15. Yellow-rumped Warbler
  16. Common Crow
  17. Field Sparrow
  18. Song Sparrow
  19. White-throated Sparrow
  20. Eastern Phoebe
  21. House Finch
  22. Grey catbird
  23. Kill Deer
  24. Eastern Towhee
  25. Mourning Dove
  26. Bay-breasted Warbler
Leave a Reply

