Caesar Creek/ Harveysburg Road

 

With the holidays rapidly approaching, Kathy has decided that this weekend we need to get some serious cleaning done. Especially with company coming over for Thanksgiving. So with this domestic field day upon me, when do I get any birding in? Today after work. So this morning before I went to work I stowed away the scope and grabbed a pair of binoculars. I really don’t like doing this. I get nauseous just thinking that someone might break into the bird mobile and steal my goods. But they were safe today. Since daylight is at a premium, I made a beeline to my favorite place, Harveysburg Road.

There was practically no wind to speak of, so there was hardly no chop on the lake. Which made for good viewing, even in the decreasing sunlight.

One thing I noticed was the increase in the amount of Common Loons. There were probably 100+ from where I was located. Also noticed a real large raft of Common Coots off in the distance. Their numbers would have easily reached into the hundreds.  However the highlight of this trip wasn’t the birds, it was seeing 3 deer swimming across the lake. Now I’m no expert of our 4 legged friends, I just think this was rather strange to see this.

After I left the end of the road, I drove to the top and parked. Followed the trail down to the lake to see if anything was in the bay. Left soon thereafter, and in the fading twilight, I went home. Birds of notice include:

  1. Ring-billed Gull
  2. Bonaparte’s Gull
  3. Common Loon
  4. Ruddy Duck
  5. Wilson’s Snipe
  6. Northern Shoveler
  7. Lesser Scaup
  8. American Wigeon
  9. Red Head
  10. Pied-bill Grebe
  11. Horned Grebe
  12. Ring-necked Duck
Leave a Reply

