Notes from the Field/12/17/2010

I loaded up the bird-mobile this morning in anticipation of going up to Caesar Creek after work today. Earlier in the week Rick Asamoto and John Marvin spotted a Female White-winged Scoter. So at around 2:30 I headed out.

I noticed on the way up that the lake hasn’t frozen over, so that was a postive sign. I did stop at the entrance to put the truck into four wheel drive, not knowing what to expect.

As stated in Rick and John’s post, the Scoter was seen in the North Pool Boat Ramp. So I made the turn off the main road and followed it down to the lake.

This was the typical condition of the roads. Not a lot of snow, just slick.

View of the lake from the boat ramp.

I did find the Scoter, which was a new life bird for me. However the whole trip was rather bitter sweet. My spotting scope is broken. I’m not sure what’s wrong right now, but needless to say I’m very sad. Without my scope, birding has now become very difficult. I’m about to cry.

Trip list includes:

  1. White-winged Scoter
  2. American Coot
  3. Ruddy Duck
  4. Canada Goose
  5. Redhead
  6. American Pipit
  7. Northern cardinal
  8. Tree Sparrow
  9. Song Sparrow
  10. Belted Kingfisher
  11. Ring-billed Gull
Leave a Reply

