Notes From The Field/ Grand valley

With a day as beautiful as today is, how can I just sit around inside. Birding is definitely on the agenda. It’s been a long time since I was at Grand Valley, and with the cold weather I was anxious to see how much it was iced over.

I arrived about 12:15, and noticed that it really was iced over quite a lot.

There was only one spot that held open water, and you can tell by the next picture how crammed the ducks are in this small area.

I spent a lot of time in this spot. When you have diving ducks congested in a small area, you make sure you identify all the species. Even though there was several species here, there was one that proved to be quite a challenge. My first gut reaction was a Long-tailed Duck. And that’s what I reported on E-Bird. It was a diving duck, and all the field markings lead me back to a Long-tailed Duck. They’ve been up at Caesar Creek for some time now, so why not here? For me that’s the bird of the day.

After that I drove to the overlook to scope out the back pond.

Frozen over except for a small spot with no ducks.

View of the main lake from the overlook.

I parked in the turn around, then decided to go for a walk to see what was stirring. There were several families taking walks on this beautiful day, along with the family dogs. I don’t think I’ve ever seen this place quite as busy.

It was a wonderful walk, with very little activity. I think it might have been better if I arrived a few hours earlier. My one surprise was a Hermit Thrush. That was a treat. I think the last time I saw a Hermit Thrush was when I lived in Sharonville. I was able to get some photos of a few of our Winter friends.

White-throated Sparrow

American Robin

Downy Woodpecker

A view of the lake before I left for the day.

When you have nice weather like we had this weekend you take every opportunity to get outside. It proves that birding is a year round experience for people of all ages. Notable birds for the day include:

  1. American Coot
  2. Ring-billed Gull
  3. Hooded Merganser
  4. Bufflehead
  5. Ring-necked Duck
  6. Pied-billed Grebe
  7. Canvasback
  8. Red Head
  9. Ruddy Duck
  10. Long-tailed Duck
  11. Blue Jay
  12. Northern Cardinal
  13. White-throated Sparrow
  14. American Robin
  15. Carolina Chickadee
  16. Tufted Titmouse
  17. Downy Woodpecker
  18. Hermit Thrush
  19. Cooper’s Hawk
  20. Sharp-shined Hawk
  21. American Goldfinch
2 responses to “Notes From The Field/ Grand valley

  1. Is it a House Sparrow – or – a Variegated Flycatcher?
    Once again, thank you for sharing your love for birds. Very cool pictures and scenery.
    Thank you,
    Dar

Leave a Reply

