Notes From The Field/ # 274

It certainly feels like I’m wearing a path between my driveway and Caesar Creek State Park lately. A sighting by Larry Gara earlier today yielded another life bird for yours truly. They reported seeing a Willet and a Cattle Egret at the beach. I also received a call from Allan Claybon  informing me of the same sighting. Well you don’t have to tell me twice. Home I went to gather the necessary optical paraphernalia, then I-71 North.

When I talked to Allan while driving to see if he was still there, he told me the Willet was perched on the top of what Allan thought was a roof of some kind. He didn’t remember any structure like that prior to the rising water. Remember the beach is still under water.

I arrived in a moderate rain, which quickly stopped several  minutes later. I spotted the Willet just like Allan described, perched on top of a roof.

As you can see the Willet is standing on top of a roof. The roof however is the roof to a bulletin board that is used to post beach regulations and other important information. As you can see the water is a bit high.

This next picture is my first attempt to digiscope with my new camera and spotting scope. Without the proper attachment yet it was difficult to center and get a full screen picture. This will be remedied as soon as my camera adapter comes in the mail.

As I was standing watching the Willet, I noticed the Cattle Egret fly past and settle down further down the beach. Maybe I shouldn’t say beach, since there isn’t any. How about where the grass meets the lake. Anyway I took this picture from where I was watching the Willet.

For me that’s too far away, so I packed it up and walked closer.

A little bit closer

A better close-up of the Cattle Egret using my spotting scope and digital camera. Remember my digiscoping skills is in it’s infancy, so they may not be the best pictures, but I’m real happy. Now I can share what I’ve seen with you, my readers.

3 responses to “Notes From The Field/ # 274

  1. Nice job on the willet shot….

  2. Scarlet Tanager

  3. Pingback: Rare Bird Alert | A Birder's Notebook

Leave a Reply

