Notes From The Field/Ellis Lake-West Chester Wetlands/# 277

After spending almost all day yesterday putting on the Bird Study Merit Badge Workshop, and then this morning spending it at the hospital with my sister whose husband was admitted yesterday, I have to admit that I was pooped when I got home. However when I read that John Marvin spotted a Long-billed Dowitcher at Ellis Lake just an hour and a half earlier, well you know the rest.

It was rather gloomy when I arrived and it looked like it was going to rain soon. When I talked to John he said that they were easy to see from the end of the road where you park. However when I got there they moved. And it looked like the Dowitcher moved as well because I couldn’t see it. I eventually found them further back. And since John said that the Dowitcher was feeding with them, I took off after them. I got fairly close and then called John back to confirm what I was looking at. As you might have guessed by now I’m not real good with Dowitchers. By the time I got back I couldn’t find the stupid bird, after I told John to post that it was still here.

Walking back rather dejected by this turn of events I noticed several new cars had arrived since I arrived. I introduced myself to them and the woman turned out to be Laura Keene. She was there with her husband and they were trying to find the Willets that were there. I pointed them out to her and asked if she had seen the Dowitcher. Sure she says, it’s right here. Now I’m happy with another life bird and a better view than before.

The overcast skies and fading sun, made for some rather poor quality picture, however it’s better than no picture at all. Even though I was only there for about 45 minutes, I did pick up some good birds for such a short time.

Notable birds for this trip include:

  1. Long-billed Dowitcher
  2. Willet
  3. Semipalmated Plover
  4. Killdeer
  5. Greater Yellowleg
  6. Lesser Yellowleg
  7. Least Sandpiper
  8. Solitary Sandpiper
  9. Spotted Sandpiper
One response to “Notes From The Field/Ellis Lake-West Chester Wetlands/# 277

  1. Paul Krusling

    Hi Les,

    Bird Study Merit Badge? How cool! Joe Kappa and I are Eagle Scouts who are recipients of the Bird Study Merit Badge. Who knows what we would be without the Boy Scouts when we were kids.

    Paul

Leave a Reply

