Notes From The Field

My intentions last evening as I journeyed to Ellis Lake/ West Chester Wetlands was 2 fold. Then first reason is quite obvious, look for migrating wading birds. The second was to hone my digiscoping skills.

For all practical purposes it started out as an uneventful drive over to West Chester. The sight of $3.65 for gas at several locations along the way resulted in some spontaneous vocalizations in regards to my own neighborhoods $0.10 more per gallon gas price.

Shortly there after is when I realized I left home without something important. No not my optics. My field guide.


I can’t remember the last time I left home without it. However all is not lost, I keep a spare Peterson’s Guide in an old Boy Scout rusk sack in the back of my truck.

Upon arrival at 7:45, and with the sun angling towards the horizon, I thought lighting would be pretty good for whatever species of birds I find. Least Sandpipers were plentiful, and being cooperative in as much as getting close.  Now this is the part of the story where I learned another one of those life lessons. Don’t leave home without FRESH BATTERIES. You see this post would have some kick-ass pictures if it wasn’t for my lack of fresh batteries. Considering the unlimited supply afforded me, why would I forget? Sometimes the answers to these questions are difficult to get a handle on, so in the mean time I owe my readers some pictures of a Least Sandpiper. Stay tuned.

Notable birds for the evening include:

  1. Spotted sandpiper
  2. Killdeer
  3. Canada Goose
  4. Mallard
  5. Yellow Warbler
  6. Least Flycatcher
  7. Least Sandpiper
  8. Semipalmated Plover
  9. American Robin
  10. Northern Cardinal
  11. Great Egret
  12. Common Grackle
  13. Barn Swallow
  14. Indigo Bunting
  15. Red-winged Blackbirds
  16. Song Sparrow

Leave a Reply

