Notes From The Field/ # 293

Miami Whitewater Forest/ Shaker Trace Wetlands

I’m suffering from an incurable, make-believe, disease. In Latin it’s called “Pressor Avis”, however for a lot of people around the world it’s just plain ole’ “Bird Chaser Syndrome”. And I have it bad.

I had another spell this morning while laying in bed thinking about the Nelson’s Sharp-tailed Sparrow taunting me, calling my name, thumbing it’s little nose at me, all the while playing hide-n-seek in the bushes.

Nothing would hold me back from my destiny this time. My logic is quite simple. The more new birds before I leave on vacation to Hilton Head the easier it will be for me to reach my goal of 300 birds before the end of the year.

It was a beautiful morning as  I made my way to Miami Whitewater Forest and the Shaker Trace Wetlands.  I arrived at 8:45 and started to bird right away. As a matter of fact my target bird was one of the first birds I saw as I started my hike. This place has been good to the last few times. If I remember correctly the last time I was here was when I spotted my Least Bittern, which was a lifer for me.

The area where I spotted the Nelson’s Sparrow. It really took me by surprise,  and few seconds later that it vanished.

I birded there area pretty thoroughly and made a few more discoveries along the way. The fact that the Nelson’s are being spotted, and they don’t stay around for very long, there were several birders working the wetlands as well. And it seemed that everyone was scoring on these birds.

Another view of the wetlands.

The under-side of a Northern Flicker

Time was limited for me. I need to get going and drive to Dayton to drop of some stuff for my youngest who’s in college. I only had a couple of hours to spend and that wasn’t even enough. I wanted to re-locate more Nelson’s Sparrows, but that will have to wait for another day. So I begrudgingly left.

Notable birds for the day include:

  1. Nelson’s Sharp-tailed Sparrow
  2. White-throated Sparrow
  3. Song Sparrow
  4. Carolina Chickadee
  5. Northern Cardinal
  6. Chestnut-sided Warbler
  7. Wilson’s Warbler
  8. White-breasted Nuthatch
  9. Brown Thrasher
  10. Red-tailed Hawk
  11. Northern Flicker
  12. Mourning Dove
  13. American Robin
  14. Blue Jay
  15. Mallard
  16. Wood Duck
  17. Gray Catbird
  18. Houose Finch
  19. Yellow-bellied Sapsucker
  20. Red-winged Black Bird
  21. Chimney Swift
  22. Eastern Goldfinch
  23. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  24. Downy Woodpecker
  25. Yellow-rumped Warbler
  26. Tree Swallow
  27. Eastern Phoebe
Leave a Reply

