Notes From The Field #304 & #305

One of the tips I learned from Rich (Sun City Bird Club member) was if you wanted to have any luck finding good shorebirds at Fish Haul Creek Park was to be there about 3 hours before high tide. The tides here are impressive, rising as much as 12 feet between low and high tide. This makes planning kind of difficult considering I’m on vacation with plans made and places to be. So the plan for today was to be at Fish Haul Creek Park about 3 hours before low tide while some of the sandbars are starting to get exposed.

It was another beautiful day when I arrived at about 10: 30 this morning. Making my way to the beach I noticed  large concentration on sea and shore birds. Composing mostly of Black Skimmers, Brown Pelicans, various gulls and tern, Marbled Godwits, Ruddy Turnstones and Sanderlings, the 2 highlights for the day included a Reddish Egret and the best bird for the day if not for the month was a single Piping Plover. Rich had told me that he had seen a couple last week and I was determined to find at least one with the time remaining, and I did. Like I said before, it’s better to be lucky than good.

3 responses to “Notes From The Field #304 & #305

  1. Beth Hammergren

    Connie lives in Sun City-you should look her up.

  2. Yeah, you need to edit those to be 304 and 305

Leave a Reply

