Notes From The Field

Caesar Creek State Park

Despite the gray overcast sky, and the howling wind, Kathy has class tonight so it’s time for a little late afternoon birding. Arriving at Harveysburg Road it didn’t take too long to realize that birding was going to be difficult. The wind off the lake was the strongest I’ve ever experienced, which in turn produced white caps on the lake. Other than the hundreds upon hundreds of Ring-billed Gulls both on the water and those struggling to stay aloft were about all I could make out.

I was battling daylight as I made my way to various locations such as the North Pool Boat Ramp, Old State Route 73, which is across from the beach, and back again to Harveysburg  Road. On my second trip back I was rewarded with a Wild Turkey crossing the road in front of me. I was at Caesar Creek for little over an hour  before it just got too dark to see anything on the lake. I believe that half of the time I was driving from place top place than actually birding.

It’s a short list, but a list nonetheless.

  1. Ring-billed Gull
  2. Canada Goose
  3. American Coot
  4. Pied-billed grebe
  5. Common Goldeneye
  6. Great Blue heron
  7. Northern cardinal
  8. Wild Turkey
  9. Bufflehead
Leave a Reply

