Notes From The Field

Avoca Trailhead Park & Bass Island

Well I did it again. I went to work on a day I had requested off. I believe this is the second time in the last 6 months I’ve done this. Well all is not lost, I went birding and my first thought was to head to Ault Park. But it was Kathy’s normal day off and she wanted to go take care of some errands so I made it a short day in the field. Being only 20 miles form where I live Avoca Park was a good selection since the last time I was there the Warblers were plentiful.

I arrived at 10:10 and made my way into the woods. I felt like I was in another place entirely. Considering the bird activity last time I was here, now it’s almost too quiet. Once again no one was in the park except for a few bicycle folks and the occasional jogger. As I made my way deeper into the woods I wa startled by a large Owl leaving it’s perch and fly to a nearby tree. It must have been me that startled the Owl in the first place, so when I put my bins on him to find out what species it was, it turned out to be a Barred Owl. I think this is only the second time I’ve actually seen one. Now I’ve heard plenty of them, but to see one was special. Thinking that it might hold still long enough for me to reach for my camera, it flew off as a mob of Robins and Blue Jays harassed it through the trees, only to disappear.

The previous days storms have left it’s mark as the trails were either soft or down right muddy as you got closer to the river. But all along the way bird activity was unusually quiet except for your normal year round birds. I was at the park fo0r about 90 minutes before making my way back to the car with still a little bit of time left. So right down the road is bass Island. Another river side park with bike trail  and canoe access. Of course the action starts to pick up when it get’s closer to when you have to leave.

This very vocal Carolina Wren was more than happy to sit for this so-so picture. I took my 8×42 Leupold binoculars and wanted to practice digi-binning with them. This will be the bins I’ll use when I go to the boardwalk at Crane Creek while on vacation.

I did come across a pair of birds I was having a particularly difficult time ID’ing. At first I thought a Vireo species, but later when I got home and checked my book, it turned out to be a Orange-crowned Warbler. That made me happy.

It could always have been a better day when it comes to Warblers, but I’ll take what I can take.

Notable birds for the day include:

  1. Orchard Oriole
  2. Baltimore Oriole
  3. American Robin
  4. Northern Parula
  5. Cedar Waxwing
  6. Brown-headed Cowbird
  7. Belted Kingfisher
  8. Tufter Titmouse
  9. Eastern Towhee
  10. Carolina Wren
  11. House Wren
  12. Blue Jay
  13. Blue-gray Gnatcatcher
  14. Eastern Phoebe
  15. Eastern Kingbird
  16. Barred Owl
  17. Spotted Sandpiper
  18. Indigo Bunting
  19. Brown Thrasher
  20. Carolina Chickadee
  21. Song Sparrow
  22. Northern Rough-winged Swallow
  23. Pileated Woodpecker
  24. Killdeer
  25. Downy Woodpecker
  26. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  27. Chipping Sparrow
  28. Common Grackle
  29. Yellow Warbler
  30. Yellow-rumped Warbler
  31. Orange-crowned Warbler
  32. Ruby-throated Hummingbird
  33. Mourning Dove
  34. House Finch
  35. American Goldfinch
  36. Northern Cardinal
One response to “Notes From The Field

  1. This is the time of year when it’s easy to misidentify birds. Still, I wouldn’t mind if spring was twice as long!

Leave a Reply

