“On The Road”

Magee Marsh/ Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge/ Metzger Marsh

Is it just me or is 3 am the normal time for birders to get up? Considering how excited I was to go on my abbreviated birding vacation I have to ask myself what is sleep. I was out the door at 4 am with my to-go cup and thermos full of java trying to put a dent into the darkness as I traveled Northward to my own birding Mecca.

One cause of all the excitement was the discovery of a Uplands Sandpiper real close to Ottawa NWR. This comes from a very reliable source and worth checking out before hitting the boardwalk. However before I tell too much about this bird, let’s return later to this story line.

With the festival just ending the boardwalk was rather quiet without all the crowds which made it enjoyable to say the least.

Granted it wasn’t like this throughout the entire boardwalk, there was your usual congestion when something good was showing itself, like a Prothonotary Warbler.

I wish this one turned out a little better, but I’ll try again tomorrow.

I wasn’t on the boardwalk more than 20 minutes when a friendly face showed up besides me, Rick Asamoto. I’ve birded with Rick on a number of occasions and being up here is going to make this day extra special. He has a very keen eye which comes into play when we go and try to re-locate the Upland Sandpiper.

Throughout the day we traveled between all 3 parks trying to add to our already bulging bird count . While at Metzger we had a great surprise as we were walking on the causeway that separates the lake from the marsh we noticed 2 Ruddy Turnstones foraging on a thin strip of sand and stones along the waters edge.

It was prior to our arrival to Metzger Marsh that I made the decision to turn onto Stange Road, which runs into Rt.2. It’s at this intersection that the Uplands was last seen the evening before. It was Rick and another birder that posted the sighting on the Ohio Listserv, and why I got so excited. This was my second stop here today, striking out on my first attempt, however this time Rick sighted it along the grassy edge that ran parallel to the road. Hoorah for me, new life bird!

Here is crappy photographic proof of my new life bird. I would say that I would go back tomorrow to see if I could get a better shot, but while I was here trying to get this picture the farmer was working the field with this tractor and some other implements that tear up the soil. In a cloud of dust it was gone.

I think this is a Warbling Vireo.

With 2 more days left and very little sleep, I’m going to cut this post short a little. However here is today’s list of birds for those keeping count.

  1. American Robin
  2. House Sparrow
  3. Lincoln Sparrow
  4. Song Sparrow
  5. White-crowned Sparrow
  6. Indigo Bunting
  7. Canada Goose
  8. Mallard
  9. Pied-billed Grebe
  10. Killdeer
  11. Semipalmated Plover
  12. Great Blue Heron
  13. Green Heron
  14. Black-crowned Night Heron
  15. Great Egret
  16. Snowy Egret
  17. Trumpeter Swan
  18. Red-winged Blackbird
  19. Mourning Dove
  20. Least Flycatcher
  21. Blue-gray Gnatcatcher
  22. Short-billed Dowitcher
  23. Dunlin
  24. Least Sandpiper
  25. Ruddy Turnstone
  26. Common Coot
  27. Moorhen
  28. Lesser Yellowleg
  29. Barn Swallow
  30. Northern Rough-winged Swallow
  31. Tree Swallow
  32. Common Grackle
  33. Common Yellowthroat
  34. Yellow Warbler
  35. Eastern Kingbird
  36. Eastern Wood Pewee
  37. Eastern Phoebe
  38. Baltimore Oriole
  39. Orchard Oriole
  40. Prairie Warbler
  41. Blue Jay
  42. Cape May Warbler
  43. Red-eyed Vireo
  44. Northern Cardinal
  45. American Redstart
  46. Blackpoll Warbler
  47. Northern Parula
  48. Blackburnian Warbler
  49. Bay-breasted Warbler
  50. Prothonotary Warbler
  51. Gray Catbird
  52. Tennessee Warbler
  53. Black-throated Green Warbler
  54. Magnolia Warbler
  55. Chestnut-sided Warbler
  56. Scarlet Tanager
  57. Nashville Warbler
  58. American Woodcock
  59. Eastern Screech Owl
  60. Yellow-rumped Warbler
  61. Ruby-throated Hummingbird
  62. Cedar Waxwing
  63. Veery
  64. Swainson Thrush
  65. House Wren
  66. Marsh Wren
  67. Yellow-billed Cuckoo
  68. Wilson’s Warbler
  69. Ring-billed Gull
  70. Forster’s Tern
  71. Bald Eagle
  72. Black-capped Chickadee
  73. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  74. Turkey Vulture
  75. Eastern Meadowlark
  76. Ruddy Duck
  77. American Goldfinch
  78. Palm Warbler
  79. Canada Warbler
  80. Brown-headed Cowbird

2 responses to ““On The Road”

  1. Great list!

  2. Pingback: My Two Favorite Places On The Pole des Rapides, Part One « docdavis15

Leave a Reply

