Notes From The Field

Caesar Creek State Park

The back of my right knee has been giving me fits for the past few days. I’m not sure what the problem is actually,  but if it doesn’t improve I may have to make a visit to the doctors. So it was difficult to concentrate on birding today as Phil and I made our way to Caesar Creek this morning. Phil had asked me help him adjust in large binoculars and we needed a large open space to make it happen, and a big lake is the ideal place to do something like this.

As we pulled into the beach parking lot, I could barely walk to the back of the truck and get my gear out. Putting weight on it was really painful so Phil helped me as I hobbled over to the picnic shelter. We were there for about 30 minutes as we fine tuned his bins and did a little stationary birding. Nothing to exciting bird wise on the beach considering how early it was.

With Fall migration just starting O really wanted to make it over to the mud flats off of Mounds Road. My knee was feeling a little better so the walk back there wasn’t too bad. I was hoping for some birds so I could test my new tripod for when I digiscope.

The lake was higher than I expected especially with the drought, but it was shallow as I noticed several Solitary and Spotted Sandpipers wading in the water.

Solitary Sandpiper

There wasn’t too much activity as we scanned around the area. The 2 Osprey that are nesting there had flown away and never returned which was disappointing.

This was the only Great Egret  sighted.

Great Blue Heron

The one thing that was numerous were the turtles, which could be seen sunning themselves on most exposed logs.

Belted Kingfisher

Spotted Sandpiper and Killdeer

This is probably the beat picture for the day of this Solitary Sandpiper that got pretty close to Phil and myself.

This being the first time I took my new tripod out into the field I was very happy with how it performed. It tracked smoothly and stayed in place when you took your hands off. There wasn’t much of a wind to see how steady it would be, so I’ll have to wait on that test. I keep asking myself why I waited so long to buy this tripod. Now the only thing I’m cursing is my out of focus pictures.

It was a nice morning and always fun to go birding with a good friend. Notable birds for the day (which weren’t many) include:

  1. Willow Flycatcher
  2. Canada Goose
  3. Killdeer
  4. Ring-billed Gull
  5. Turkey Vulture
  6. Black Vulture
  7. Osprey
  8. Green heron
  9. Great Blue Heron
  10. Little Blue Heron
  11. Belted Kingfisher
  12. Mourning Dove
  13. Northern Rough-winged Swallow
  14. Barn Swallow
  15. Spotted Sandpiper
  16. Solitary Sandpiper
  17. Mallard
  18. Blue Jay
  19. American Goldfinch
  20. House Wren
3 responses to “Notes From The Field

  1. Nice shots of the Solitary Sandpiper and Belted Kingfisher. Is it just me or does that “Great Egret” have a multicolored bill like a juvenile Little Blue Heron?

  2. Great blog and nice shots, in spite of your bad knee!

Leave a Reply

