Notes From The Field

Caesar Creek State Park

With some of my new found post-processing knowledge on some of my better digital pictures, I wanted to go out into the field again and do some birding and digiscoping on Friday afternoon. It was an exceedingly light day at work, so getting off early wasn’t a problem as I headed home after lunch to gather my gear and drive to the lake. I was hoping the 2 Ospreys were still there as well as the Little Blue Heron.

I parked in the Mound Road access lot and walked the 100yards or so back towards the lake and the mudflats. I’ve learned from past experiences that you really need to sneak up when you approach this area. Keeping your movements slow while keeping trees between yourself and the birds will help as the lake unfolds before you. The first place I looked was in the area of where the Osprey nest is located in hopes of catching them there or in a nearby tree. I was able to locate on perched in a tree, however as soon as i got my scope on the birds it flew off never to return and light. But we did have a new addition from when I was here last. Another Little Blue Heron.

Getting a picture of the 2 together took some patience. They were separated for the most part till they passed each other while feeding, then I would snap off a few pictures. Ohio has had a proliferation of Little Blue Herons reported from all over the state, and in the Southwestern portion it’s no different. While it is uncommon in the Northern half of the state, let’s say from Columbus Northward, we tend to get a few more and they’re a little  more common.

2 Green Herons caught my attention out of the corner of my eye as they lighted on a large pile of branches that chokes the far end where a small stream flows into the lake. It was sitting out in the open filling up the screen on my camera when it flew off into a tree, where it hopped from branch to branch. It finally hold still long enough for me to get a few pictures.

I drove next over to the boat ramp that offers a different perspective of the mudflats from where it exits into the lake. I was also hoping that the Osprey would return if they knew I wasn’t there. When I pulled into the boat ramp area and parked I saw one calling and flying overhead with a fish in it’s talons. It never did land, an eventually flew off. The lake is very shallow despite it’s appearance, as Great Blue Herons waded further and further out.

Great Blue Heron

Little Blue Heron

In this picture you can see how this juvenile is starting to change into the deep blue color that identifies this species. Look at how the tail is turning blue down by the legs.

It was a Heron kind of day with 3 species seen. All in all it was a nice afternoon, unfortunately when I returned home was when I found out of my friends passing.

Notable birds for the day include:

  1. Green Heron
  2. Great Blue Heron
  3. Little Blue Heron
  4. Belted Kingfisher
  5. Common Crow
  6. Solitary Sandpiper
  7. Pectoral Sandpiper
  8. Spotted Sandpiper
  9. Least Sandpiper
  10. Killdeer
  11. Caspian Tern
  12. Ring-billed Gull
  13. Osprey
  14. Turkey Vulture
  15. Black Vulture
  16. Double-breasted Cormorant
  17. Northern Rough-winged Swallow
  18. Blue Jay
  19. House Wren
One response to “Notes From The Field

  1. Great pictures! It’s quite a season for Little Blue Herons, isn’t it? We have them up here near Columbus at Hoover Reservoir.

Leave a Reply

