The January 100 species Challenge/ 2013

Starting on January 1st, and ending on the 31st, myself and others across the country will be searching for as many different species and try to make that elusive 100 species mark. I’ve heard about this challenge a few years ago but have never tried it till this year.

This will be a definite challenge as I try to think of all the places around the tri-state that holds the best possibilities for numerous species. However just coming off a Christmas Bird Count I feel the odds are in my favor. So as new birds are added to my list they will be posted to the blog at the end of the day as necessary. I’m sure this will not be an easy task as I approach the 100 mark, so wish me luck and stay tuned for updates,

  1. House Sparrow
  2. House Finch
  3. Dark-eyed Junco
  4. Northern Cardinal
  5. Northern Flicker
  6. American Goldfinch
  7. Carolina Chickadee
  8. Red-breasted Nuthatch
  9. Tree Sparrow
  10. Song Sparrow
  11. Blue Jay
  12. Tufted Titmouse
  13. Downy Woodpecker
  14. White-breasted Nuthatch
  15. Pine Siskin
  16. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  17. Carolina Wren
  18. European Starling
  19. Mourning Dove
2 responses to “The January 100 species Challenge/ 2013

  1. Best of luck- I’d have to do some traveling to have a shot at this number!

  2. I’d love to do something like this, but it’s not possible in Ottawa. I usually only manage 60-70 species on my winter list, and most of those are found in the first week of December. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

