2012: A Year In Review

As 2012 comes to a close I need to pause and reflect on the past birding activities and adventures that took place. Besides being one of the driest years in regards to moisture from the sky, new life birds were also difficult to come by, however the quality of new birds for my life list was exceptional.

As you can see from the below list there are some pretty rare birds that made the list, and with some effort on my part I hope to do as well in 2013.

  1. Eurasian Wigeon
  2. Long-eared Owl
  3. Tundra Swan
  4. Northern Shrike
  5. White-winged Crossbill
  6. Common Redpoll
  7. Ferruginous Hawk
  8. Smith’s Longspur
  9. Upland Sandpiper
  10. Connecticut Warbler
  11. Chuck-will’s-widow
  12. Neotropic Cormorant
  13. Red-necked Phalarope
  14. Buff-breasted Sandpiper
  15. Hudsonian Godwit
  16. LeConte’s Sparrow
  17. Red Crossbill
  18. Rufus Hummingbird

My total  number of species seen in the year 2012 was 249, with Ohio topping the states visited during the year at 240 species.

Even though 17 new species added to my life list might seem kind of lean for the big time birders, the effort required to spot these birds tested everyone concerned. So a special thanks goes out to Jon, John and Phil for putting up with me and my road trips, and all my other local field trips.

We did have some great local raptor excitement throughout the year with a Ferruginous Hawk taking up residence at the Greater Cincinnati Airport. Then a local park in Loveland Ohio (which is just miles form my house) hosted the annual “Kite Day” sponsored by the Ohio Ornithological Society since 3 Mississippi Kites made Loveland their happy hunting grounds. However the pièce de résistance was the apperance of 3 Swallow-tailed Kites, which stayed for several days amongst the rolling hills of Boone County Kentucky. Without a doubt, one of the most beautiful birds ever to fly the sky.

Speaking of road trips, there were many in 2012 with some old haunts re-visited and some new ones to add to the books. As with all road trips it has to meet one very important requirement, be outside of an imaginary 50 mile circle around my house. We put a lot of miles on the bird-mobile in 2012, but it was worth it.

  1. Deer Creek Wildlife Area
  2. Magee Marsh
  3. Metzger Marsh
  4. Ottawa National Wildlife Area
  5. Hoover Reservoir- Columbus, Ohio
  6. Hattiesburg Mississippi
  7. Edge of Appalachia Preserve
  8. Shawnee State Park
  9. Crawfordsville, Indiana
  10. Historic Woodlawn Cemetery-Toledo, Ohio
  11. Killdeer Plains Wildlife Area

My year in review wouldn’t be complete without mentioning the retirement of the old bird-mobile and the acquisition  of a brand new, fuel efficient, Honda bird-mobile. And as we enjoy lower fuel prices at the end of the year, be prepared for the inevitable rise.

So what are some of my goals for 2013? I’d to add at least 10 more new birds to my life list, and visit as many new places as possible. But above all of that is to remain as healthy as a 57 year old can be, and make new friends along the way. Of course I’d enjoy a rise in readers of “A Birder’s Notebook” but we can’t have everything, can we.

So as I end this year in review I want to thank everyone from the bottom my heart for supporting me and visiting my blog. If it wasn’t for you there would be no need for writing this blog in the first place.

Total views for 2012- 16,725

Average view per day- 45.8 views

Busiest Month-June

Busiest Day- June 22nd with 802 views

Have a great 2013, and if you see me in the field, say hello and let’s shake hands in friendship.

2 responses to “2012: A Year In Review

  1. Les what program do use yo keep track of your sightings? Thanks Charlie

Leave a Reply

