New Yard Bird

If it wasn’t for the unseasonably cool weather we’ve been having in the Ohio Valley lately I would have missed this bird altogether. While sitting on the front porch on evening this last week a Belted Kingfisher flew from my right to left across the street. I first had to do a double take and consider what else this bird really was until it called. A Belted Kingfisher has a very unmistakable call, and my visual was confirmed. I thought to myself where this bird might have come from, and it had to have come from some of the larger farm ponds that dot the landscape in the area. A nice addition to the yard list, which now stands at 75.

Leave a Reply

