Notes From The Field

I don’t know about anyone else but when I go on vacation I try to put the troubling world behind and become totally absorbed in The Vacation. So when I drove the 13 miles to Pinkney N.W.R. yesterday it didn’t occur to me that it would be closed. Yespecially one of the benefits of a government shut-down is that all wildlife refuges also shut down. After muttering a few choice words I then decidedly head back to Fish Haul Creek as the tide was going out. Which was a great decision on my part because the birding was excellent. Besides the usual birds that I”ve seen there on my previous visits, I had some great views of an all blue Little Blue Herons, with pictures. Good views of both Clapped Rail, and Saltmarsh Sharp-tailed Sparrows, with some crummy pictures. And 3 Piping Plovers which was great, and even though I did get some pictures of them I need to photo shop them to see how they turn out.
Being our last full day here I don’t think that I”ll be doing any birding today, so my full report with pictures will have to wait till I get home.

Leave a Reply

