“Listers”

If you’re a birder you know what it means to be a “lister”. Now if you happen to be acquainted to a birder and wonder what all the fuss is about keeping a list, well you don’t know the half of it. Birders can be rather fanatical about their lists. This hobby just screams to have several lists, and I’m not talking about your everyday kind of “life list” here.

Now if you’re someone who’s doing a Big Year it’s perfectly understandable to keep a list for all the birds you saw for that year, however people do go to extremes. We have lists for state birds either for a year’s time or for life, county lists, yard lists, vacation lists, day lists, Christmas count lists, even lists of birds seen on TV.

Myself I have a couple lists which include my life list, and my yard list. Both can be viewed from the home page at the top of the page. And every once in awhile I go onto eBird and see where I’m standing in the state and the surrounding counties. And during January I’ll once again attempt my “January 100 Species Challenge”.

Now I’m keeping a new list which is a little unusual, Remember a few blog posts back where I talked about a live feeder cam located in Ontario Canada. As I visit this camera I just can’t believe some of the birds I’ve seen so far and now I want to keep a list.  In other words it’s my “Internet Yard List”. I can’t believe how nerdy this sounds, however when you see the list of the birds I’ve seen, you’ll want to check out this feeder cam.

For those who don’t remember the link to the camera here it is.

Ontario Feeder Cam

Now here’s my list so far, which might not be too impressive but remember I don’t just sit in front of my computer and stare at this feeder cam all the time.

  1. Ruffed Grouse
  2. Blue Jay
  3. Gray Jay
  4. Evening Grosbeak
  5. Pine Grosbeak
  6. Black-capped Chickadee
  7. Red-breasted Nuthatch
  8. Downy Woodpecker
  9. American Goldfinch
One response to ““Listers”

  1. I’m thinking of starting a bus list of all the birds I’ve seen commuting on the local transit. Because I live on the outskirts of town, my bus travels through a good number of habitats: woods, farm fields, along the Ottawa River. The Great Egret I saw earlier this year would be an awesome bird for it.

    By the way, I love those feeders, too. Made me wish I lived in northern Ontario instead of Ottawa!

Leave a Reply

