January 100 Species Challenge

Only an idiot…or birder would be out on a day like yesterday. Being on vacation I especially felt sorry for the people who had to battle the traffic to get to work. My intentions yesterday as I was looking out upon this Winter wonderland was still up in the air. Do I go out, or don’t I?

The I noticed that Brian Wulker who just “liked” my Red-shouldered Hawk photo was still on-line. So I Facebook messaged him to see if he was going out. He was, so we hooked up at 10:00 a.m. at Camp Dennison Nature Trail. The plan for the day was to hit the Little Miami River Valley, like we did for the Christmas Bird Count.

So while the snow continued to come down at a good clip we did a good bit of driving hitting some of the hot spots through the area. Besides Camp Dennison Nature Trail, we peered down into Grand Valley Preserve from the edge (since neither of us have passes), a few gravel pits along Roundbottom Road, Avoca Park, and Bass Island. However my thoughts were always on Lost Bridge and the Trumpeter and Tundra Swans that were there yesterday and the day before.

So around 12:30 we went our separate ways, with myself making the long haul all the way to the other side of town to Lost Bridge. And just like the day before the Swans were still there.

IMG_3398

  1. Barred Owl
  2. Canada Goose
  3. Cackling Goose
  4. Pigeon
  5. Trumpeter Swan
  6. Tundra Swan
  7.   Cooper’s Hawk
  8. Bald Eagle
  9. Carolina Wren
  10. Yellow-bellied Sapsucker
  11. Yellow-rumped Warbler
  12. American Coot
  13. Gadwall
  14. Mallard
  15. Black Duck
  16. Song Sparrow
  17. Dark-eyed Junco
  18. Hairy Woodpecker
  19. Ring-billed Gull
  20. Ring-necked Duck
  21. Mourning Dove
  22. White-throated Sparrow
  23. Golden-crowned Kinglet
  24. Bufflehead

This now gives me a grand total of 41 species, and a long way to go.

One response to “January 100 Species Challenge

  1. Yeah, I went out yesterday and today too, even though it’s still below -20C here in Ottawa. I did find my own Northern Pintail today, which made my day!

    There’s no way anyone could find 100 species here – especially in this finch-less winter – so I admire those of you live in a place where this is possible. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

