January 100 Species Challenge

With almost 2 weeks already gone for January the anxiety level of making 100 species is a foreboding cloud over my head. Will I, or won’t I make it? So yesterday John and Jon and myself hit it pretty hard in Western Hamilton County with stops at Fernald Preserve, Miami Whitewater, Whitewater Senior Center, and other various spots along the way.

Then to top it off after I got home I find out that a Surf Scoter was seen at the mouth of the Licking River. So I was back into the field again chasing a relatively rare bird. Then this morning I was up to Caesar Creek to try for a couple common birds there.

So now this being my last day of vacation, I’m sitting at 95 birds. So the new ones from both today and yesterday are:

  • Surf Scoter
  • Field Sparrow
  • Turkey Vulture
  • Green-winged Teal
  • Brown-headed Cowbird
  • Common Loon
  • Bonaparte’s Gull

Some of the common birds still needed are:

  1. Eastern Screech Owl
  2. Great Horned Owl
  3. Gray Catbird
  4. Winter Wren
  5. Rusty Blackbird
  6. Sandhill Crane
  7. Rough-legged Hawk

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

One response to “January 100 Species Challenge

  1. At one time Great Horned Owls were nesting at Lake Isabella. Just a thought. I will keep my eyes open for a Catbird as they do come around here.
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

