New Book

I had a couple of errands to take care today, and one of them was to make a trip over my local Half-Price Book Store and pick up this copy of “Birds Of Texas” that I saw a few weeks back. This book will become a necessary item as my trip to the Rio Grande Birding Festival nears in 2015. I realize that November 2015 is a ways off, but if you know me at all it’s never too early to brush up on species that I’ve never seen before.

When I arrived I made my way back to “Nature” section and started to peruse the shelves of everything bird related. After a little help from an employee I was able to find the book. It turned out to be a older Peterson guide (circa 1968), and what I was really interested in was something newer. However all was not lost as my eyes glanced on a book that I own but not in this form.

book

This hard bound edition is a beauty and in almost perfect condition. And if you are a Ohio Birder, you’re well aware of Bruce Peterjohn and his massive work by the same name. I have this edition in paperback and it’s invaluable to any Ohio Birder who needs a great reference book. However what sets this book apart from the book by the the same author is the illustrations by William Zimmerman. Original oil painting that really set this book apart. Granted the same information is still there, just like the other book, but now with the addition of some great avian art work it now becomes a book you’d be proud to set out on the coffee table.

Here’s an example of just one paintings from the book. A pair of Barn Swallows and one Cliff Swallow. This is such great stuff and a super addition to my library, but not just for the painting. Remember it’s written by Peterjohn, and that means it’s a top shelf reference book for any serious birder.

I’ve had some pretty good luck when visiting Half-Price Books, and today was no different. I’m looking forward to sitting down and going through cover to cover on this little gem.

Leave a Reply

