Notes From The Field

Eye fatigue is beginning to have it’s effect after a full day of birding. Even something as simple as typing this blog can prove difficult when you can’t even focus on the letters. However after a full nights sleep I’ll be ready to make a morning rush and try to pick up any last bird I need.
It was still a slow day on the boardwalk with total numbers down, however I was able to pick up a couple of  warblers that have eluded me, particularly the Black and White, and Blackburnian. It was another day when you had to work to get any new bird, however I was able to score on 11 new birds for my trip list. So with the 11 new birds from todays outing, this has raised my trip total to 127 species, which I think is pretty good.
Notable new birds for the day include a Mourning Warbler, Yellow-bellied Flycatcher, and the best bird for the day was a Olive-sided Flycatcher.
Tomorrow Will be our last day here and with the forecast of rain and storms for the morning, it might be the shortest visit to the boardwalk. Let’s keep our fingers crossed that it will hold off for a little bit of birding.

Leave a Reply

