Notes From The Field

A last minute change of plans resulted in us driving to Findlay Reservoir instead of a return visit to the boardwalk this morning. New of 11 Whimbrels being sighted at the reservoir got me excited since this is one of my nemesis birds. Our plans for the drive home was to avoid the interstates altogether and take nothing but back roads to get home. Well Findlay was in the way so no better time than now to tick of this bird.

Findlay is a massive, above ground reservoir with 2 separate basins. It has a nice wide path so people can walk around or bird watch, which loads of people do. Well I don’t know how far I walked but there were no Whimbrels. I stumbled upon some Least and Spotted Sandpipers, and 1 lone Dunlin which I spotted through my spotting scope.  Foiled again! So the quest continues for this bird.

However on the suuny side I was able to add 7 new birds to my trip list including a Red-necked Grebe, and a Horned Grebe. So with the Eared and Pied-billed Grebes seen earlier, it has been a 4 Grebe vacation.

So now that this birding trip is finally over I’m rather proud to announce that all told I saw 137 different species. The entire trip list is forthcoming in a new blog post with pictures. Once I go through the hundreds of pictures.

 

Leave a Reply

