Notes From The Field

With only a few more hours left in August, September could be very well a great month for fall migration here in the Ohio Valley. For the past two weekends I’ve been out in the field, particularly in the Lost Bridge and Oxbow area, setting up the old spotting scope watching and waiting. These two areas are notorious for having rarities drop in, (the Whimbrel in the Spring that I dipped on after breaking all sorts of traffic laws in my attempt to get there) and with Jon in tow this last Sunday we made out pretty well.

The Saturday prior was just as good when arrived at Lost Bridge I ran into a group of birders from the local Audubon Society on one of their monthly field trips.  That morning 2 Red-necked Phalaropes were the star as each birder strained through their spotting scopes to catch these rarities.

Trying to get any decent photograph was futile so after many tries to capture any of the great birds seen during the 2 weekends, I just gave up. In sprite of the fact I have no pictures to share I do have what I feel is a good list of some darn good birds.

  1. Red-necked Phalarope
  2. Semipalmated Plover
  3. American Golden Plover
  4. Stilt Sandpiper
  5. Least Sandpiper
  6. Spotted Sandpiper
  7. Semipalmated Sandpiper
  8. Baird’s Sandpiper
  9. Lesser Yellowleg
  10. Sanderling

And as it normally is when I go birding during the heat of the Summer, I usually knock off by lunch time and head for home.

2 responses to “Notes From The Field

  1. Great list! We get sanderling where I am. I’ve a wader list on my recent blog! 600 lapwing being the highlight!

Leave a Reply

