Notes From The Field

“January 100 Species Challenge”

It’s now the 2nd of January, and the beginning of both the New Year and another January 100 Species Challenge. And honestly it’s not starting out all too well, what with the warm weather pattern that has taken hold of the Ohio Valley, as well as most of the rest of the country. Two years ago we had a real cold Winter and a week of vacation which helped in obtaining 100 species by the skin of my teeth. Last year I came up short, and I feel if we don’t have a change in the weather I’ll come up short again. I’m finding that duck species are low which will directly effect my overall count. So what we need is some cold weather to freeze over the lakes up north, so it sends the waterfowl south.

Today I had several hours to bird so I worked the Little Miami River Valley from the Ohio River northward. I visited several marinas that dot this section of the Ohio River without success. A couple area parks were closed for deer hunting and some of the larger bodies of water along my drive produced just a few waterfowl. Even my go-to spot for Mallards was empty.

The day wasn’t a total bust by all means, however if things don’t improve it’ll be a long January. And to makes things even more difficult I’m traveling to Michigan one weekend to visit my daughter, which will be a total non-birding weekend.

Why do I feel 75 birds will be a excellent number for January. Well wish me luck.

IMG_4019American Kestrel at Armleder Park

IMG_4029Horned Lark

  1. Carolina Chickadee
  2. Tufted Titmouse
  3. American Robin
  4. Red-tailed Hawk
  5. Red-shouldered Hawk
  6. Rock Dove
  7. Black Vulture
  8. Turkey Vulture
  9. European Starling
  10. Ring-billed Gull
  11. Mourning Dove
  12. Red-bellied Woodpecker
  13. Northern Cardinal
  14. Dark-eyed Junco
  15. House Finch
  16. House Sparrow
  17. Northern Flicker
  18. Blue Jay
  19. Canada Goose
  20. American Goldfinch
  21. American Crow
  22. American Kestrel
  23. Song Sparrow
  24. Carolina Wren
  25. Cedar Waxwing
  26. White-breasted Nuthatch
  27. Downy Woodpecker
  28. Cooper’s Hawk
  29. Horned Lark
  30. Pied-billed Grebe
  31. Bufflehead
  32. Eastern Towhee
One response to “Notes From The Field

  1. Great idea! I may go for 100 in February. Good luck with your list.

Leave a Reply

