January 100 Species Challenge

Well January is finally, and mercifully over for this valiant birder. For my last day in January I wanted to try Cowen Lake State Park and see if any new ducks were there. Well the lake is still frozen over and except for a patch of some Canadian Geese and a couple lone Bald eagles sitting on the ice, the park was a big bust when it came to new birds.

It was while I was about to change location when Jon called me and said he was on his way to Caesar Creek and wanted to know if I’d meet him. “Sure, why not”.

We met up and after several hours of driving around I was able to tick off 2 more birds for my January list, which now gives me a grand total of 70 birds. Not very good considering the birds I missed, which I shouldn’t have.

Well there’s always next year, just like the Red’s.

  1. Purple Finch
  2. Bonaparte’s Gull

IMG_4176

IMG_4180

Leave a Reply

