The Best of 2016, Part 1

As a birdwatcher who enjoys taking photographs of birds mostly for documentation and blogging purposes, I thought it would be kind of fun to review what I feel to be the better photos of birds from the previous year. The idea of doing this wasn’t my own. A fellow WordPress Blogger, https://brighamstephen.wordpress.com/ posted his top 10 photographs of 2016 just last month, so I borrowed his idea. They say imitation is the best form of flattery. Now he’s a much better photographer than I could ever be, but I thought the idea was really cool.

img_4731American Redstart  f6.5   1/250   ISO 250

This American Redstart is by far my best effort for this species. I took a stroll one morning when we visited Maumee Bay State Park last Spring, and ran into a nice pocket of warblers.

img_4432_1Vesper Sparrow   f6.5   1/800   ISO 500

As muchRed-headed Woodpeckers I love sparrows, I just had to include this gem. These elusive beauties can only be found during migration and I was lucky enough to capture this image while visiting the Oxbow back in April.

img_4486Red-headed Woodpecker   f8.0   1/1600   ISO 800

While visiting my son at Haw River State Park in Greensboro North Carolina, he told me about this location where these woodpeckers congregated. What I love most about this photo is the contract between the texture of the bark and the coloration of the bird.

img_4565Virginia Rail   f6.5   1/640   ISO 1,000

My go-to spot for these birds is Spring Valley Wildlife Area north of Waynesville Ohio. This spring I really had a bird who was the most cooperative I’ve ever seen, and the results are quite obvious.

img_5069Stellar Jay   f6.5   1/640   ISO 1,250

Walking among the giant Redwoods in Redwoods National Park is one of the most surreal experiences I’ve had. And when a life bird such as this Stellar Jay lands in front of you, well it’s the cherry on top.

One response to “The Best of 2016, Part 1

  1. theafternoonbirder

    Looks like it was a great year! Red-headed Woodpecker is on my list for 2017… beautiful picture!

Leave a Reply

