January 100 Species Challenge

Well it’s finally over, and I have some good news and some bad. The good news I saw more birds this January than I have for the last 2 years. The bad news is that I never reached 100 species, which honestly doesn’t surprise me. Weather wise it’s been one of the wettest January that I can remember. Normally a little rain won’t keep me from birding, but after a while you have to say enough is enough.

I got out a much as I could except for the weekend I visited my daughter in Michigan. It was a lost weekend for birding but I’ll trade any birding trip for any time I can spent it with my daughter. All told I spotted 83 birds with Turkey Vulture as the last bird for the month.

Next year I’ll be retired and I do expect a better performance with the added free time during the week. I may not hit 100 species but sometimes it’s not just about reaching a goal, it’s being out in nature enjoying what I love to do. I may chase a few more birds further away from home, I’m just not going to be mental about it.

Time to relax and enjoy what brought me into birding in the first place.

img_5648I have this “Go-To” spot for Horned Larks during my January Challenge, and it didn’t disappoint this year.

Leave a Reply

