Daily Archives: August 22, 2010

Haiku Corner

Your one stop for a short poem.

Mourning Dove calls

My elderly neighbor stills

The sound of her hoeing

Outings & Sightings 8/18/2010

Well it certainly has been a busy, non-birding week here at “A Birders Notebook”, but I was able to get some birding in with my new birding friend John M. We had planned on going to VOA Park to spot some Henslow’s, but John called and said that he had spotted a Sora over at the holding pond at Winton Woods Park. And since I didn’t have one on my life list, we went there instead.

We also meet up with Allan C. who was there for the same reason. Even though we had a fleeing glimpse of the Sora, none the less, it was a new bird, and I left a happy person.

I had never been to this part of Winton Woods before and John informed me that it was a pretty hot spot for ducks in the winter time. Not as good as Camp Dennison, but good all the same. Another place to check out during the winter, I like it.

We arrived at about 7:00 pm and left at 8:30 pm. Birds of interest are,

  1. Grasshopper Sparrow
  2. Song Sparrow
  3. Gold Finch
  4. Eastern Phoebe
  5. Purple Martin
  6. Indigo Bunting
  7. Sora
  8. Wood Duck
  9. Mallard
  10. Blue Wing Teal
  11. Great Blue Heron
  12. Cedar Wax Wing
  13. Field Sparrow
  14. Canada Goose
  15. Chimney Swift
  16. Eastern Bluebird
  17. Common Nighthawk
  18. Cooper’s Hawk
  19. Mourning Dove
  20. Eastern Kingbird
  21. Carolina Chickadee
  22. Tufted Titmouse
  23. Carolina Wren
  24. Ruby-throated Hummingbird
  25. American Robin
  26. Northern cardinal
  27. Blue Grosbeak
  28. House Finch