Take A Knee, Please

As someone who dreams of retirement this time off with my knee issue has given me sometime to think. And I think I’ll LOVE retirement! However with that said I don’t want to be stuck with what I’ve gone through these past few weeks, a sedentary life style. I don’t love the idea of not having the ability to get up and go birding whenever the urge hits is rather bothersome. So needles to say this constant sitting with my leg propped up is getting on my nerves a little. And the fact that I don’t see any significant improvement, especially with the pain aspect of this injury is constantly in the back of my mind. I have a little over a week and a half till I go back to work and will I be able to stand for any length of time? Will I be able to hurry from one O.R. suite to another without having pain shoot through my knee causing me to stop for a minute? I don’t have the answer for that right now, however I do have an upcoming doctors appointment on Monday so these questions should be answered.

As for birding, Fall migration is passing me by and I’m trying not to think about it. I’m still planing on taking a trip to Ottawa N.W.R. either in October or November, so with luck and a fast healing process this will come true. So for the time being it will be some front porch bird watching for me.

Leave a comment